All Aboard the Polar Bear Express

So here I am at the final leg of my journey in becoming a nurse. It’s been a tumultuous ride to say the least. But I’m thankful to all my family and friends that have supported me throughout these past years. I owe you for my sanity!

Starting next week, I will embark on a 2 month nursing adventure. I’ll be consolidating in a rural Ontario hospital. There is no road access to this town; my journey begins by taking a train called the “Polar Bear Express”!

From the background history I’ve read about this hospital, it use to be a Tuberculous sanitarium for residents of Ontario in the 50’s. Fun fact: the hospital is shaped as the Cross of Lorraine, which is the symbol for TB prevention. Now, it is an acute-care teaching hospital that services the surrounding First Nations communities.

These last few weeks have been grueling, more so mentally. But I’m finally seeing the light at the end of the tunnel. And I’m actually brimming with excitement and nervousness too. Lots of questions are still left unanswered, so that worries me a bit, but I feel that things have a way of working out in the end.

Leave a Reply

