Moccasins, Rawhide, & Fur. Oh My!

As soon as I heard from the locals that there was a craft class every Tuesday night, I was stoked! It’s taught by 3 elders in the community. This month they are working on moccasins made from moose hide. Everyone told me that it was informal, and that anyone could join.

We trekked over to the cultural center after dinner with excitement. The log cabin building was cozy, and we were greeted by the crafters. I was given a small piece of hide and asked to choose a design. Something simple to start off with. I then choose beads — of course one colour had to be purple.

Here’s what I have so far:

Not too shabby for a beginner, eh? I can’t wait to finish this pair and start on another design. This pair will probably fit a kiddie.

We’re moving to our new digs tomorrow. Certainly won’t be as luxurious as where we’re staying now. But as long as it has heat and internet, I’ll be happy.

Leave a Reply

