Drivers, Start Your Engines!

Lucas Oleniuk/Toronto Star

The anticipation starts when the engines come to life. I stood at the fences facing the pit. It was an overcast day, but still stifling hot. The indy cars, two at a time took off. A pace car was out in front for the first 2 laps. The sound of 26 race cars going by was deafening. I tried to talk to my friend right next to me, and there was no way we could hear each other. When the pace car retired, oh boy, the roar was intoxicating. The excitement in the air was palpable. And to make things even more intense, two fighter jets flew overhead in concert with the race cars speeding through the grandstands. Oh, and there were also fireworks. What a spectacular start to the Toronto Indy.

Inside the Honda pavilion

After watching multiple laps by the fence, we decided to walk around to see the rest of the racetrack. I think we must have been at the threshold of hearing damage. I wouldn’t say it was painful, but akin to going to a concert and walking away feeling like you’ve gone deaf. I live at least 3km away from the racetrack, but I could still hear the echo from my bedroom.

I learned so much about racing today! And I also was taught how to ride a motorcycle after sitting on one. The key words here is that I was taught, and did not actually attempt to drive one. There are way too many things to think about on a motorcycle — the clutch, shifting with your feet, knowing what hand is the break! I’m sure it all comes with practice, but I’ll stick to my automatic sedan, thank you very much.

Also, here’s an interesting article about the Indy from the Toronto Star: Indy remains one of Toronto’s great days out.

Leave a Reply

