Truth from Movies

I had this guy leave me a voice mail at work so I called him at home and then he e-mailed me to my Blackberry and so I texted to his cell and then he e-mailed me to my home account and the whole thing just got out of control. And I miss the days when you had one phone number and one answering machine and that one answering machine has one cassette tape and that one cassette tape either had a message from a guy or it didn’t. And now you just have to go around checking all these different portals just to get rejected by seven different technologies. It’s exhausting. – He’s Just Not That Into You

My high school days seem so long ago, but I do remember when I only had the house phone. I had one email address, and I used msn messenger regularly. I also believe that my parents invested in high-speed dial up internet. It wasn’t until first year university that I bought a cell phone. And now, it’s unheard of someone not owning a cell phone; it has become ubiquitous.

I caved and activated a data plan for my Blackberry. It’s still novel to me, thus, I spend more time on my phone than is warranted. However, after using Blackberry Messenger, many of my friends exclaimed: “Now we can keep in touch!” Excuse me, but I thought we were by emailing, talking over the phone, talking in person, and texting. Not to mention, facebook as well. Suddenly all other forms of communication become null and void because of BBM? Interesting.

I’d like to share this poignant article with y’all:
A Smartphone is Worse than a Cigarette

Leave a Reply

